Baytown Township

Washington County, Minnesota

Baytown Township Watershed Management

The Western portion of Baytown Township is within the Valley Branch Watershed District as indicated on the Watershed Management Authorities Boundaries Map. The Valley Branch Watershed District includes portions of Baytown and West Lakeland Townships, a majority of the City of Afton and Lake Elmo, and portions of other cities some of which include Grant, Pine Springs, Oakdale, Oak Park Heights and Mahtomedi.   The head of the watershed is at the western Boundary of Washington County in Mahtomedi.  The watershed flow is in the southeasterly direction of the Old Village of Afton.

The Valley Branch Watershed District is directed by a Board of Managers assisted by a consulting engineer. This Board of Mangers reviews all development proposals that impact on major drainage features and proposed subdivisions with the district as they are affected by the plan prepared for the district. The overall plan indicates the drainage pattern and the normal and flood elevations of water bodies and storage ponds along the main stem (Valley Branch) and the Valley Branch South Fork of the Watershed.

The eastern half of Baytown Township lies within the Middle St. Croix Watershed Management Organization. The Middle St. Croix Watershed Management Organization includes portions of Stillwater, Oak Park Heights, Bayport, Baytown Township, West Lakeland and others. Basically, runoff waters from the Middle St. Croix Watershed Management Organization (MSCWMO) flow east. The portion of Baytown that is located in the MSCWMO has a runoff pattern that drains east to the St. Croix River, which is aided by Perro Creek in the north and another small stream in the south of the Township.

Baytown Township Representative to the MSCWMO is John Fellegy - 651-275-2200